Long Term Care Commission Has 6 Months to Report to Congress
Monday, March 18, 2013
by: VNAA Policy Team

Section: Public Policy and Advocacy

On March 13, President Barak Obama released the names of his three nominees for the Long Term Care Commission which includes, Carol Raphael, a former VNAA member CEO. This commission was created under the fiscal-cliff deal passed on January 2, 2013. The 15-member commission will have only six-months to send Congress recommendations on how best to provide long-term care for the elderly and disabled. The commission was created when the Community Living Assistance Services and Support program (CLASS) – passed in the Affordable Care Act – and repealed in the fiscal-cliff deal. Here is the full listing of appointees:

President Barak Obama’s Appointments:
Henry Claypool: American Association of People with Disabilities
Julian Harris: Office of Medicaid in Massachusetts
Carol Raphael: American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) Board of Directors and former CEO and President of Visiting Nurse Service of New York
Senator Harry Reid’s Appointments:
Javaid Anwar: Nevada Physician
Laphonza Bulter: United Long Term Care Workers Union
Judy Feder: Georgetown Public Policy Institute
Senator Mitch McConnell’s Appointments:
Bruce Greenstein: Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals
Neill Pruitt, Jr.: UHS-PruittCorporation
Mary Washofski: Former Treasury Department Official in the Bush Administration
House Speaker John Boehner’s Appointments:
Judy Brachman: Jewish Federations of North America, Aging and Family Caregiving Committee
Stephen Guillard: Belmont Nursing Center Corp.
Grace-Marie Turner: Galen Institute
House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi’s Appointments:
Bruce Chernoff: SCAN Foundation
Judith Stein: Center for Medicare Advocacy
George Vrandenberg: the Vrandenberg Foundation
VNAA will be working diligently to inform the commission of critical issues in home health and hospice care.
Post a Comment