GAO Makes MedPAC Appointments and Designates Vice Chair

Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO), today announced the appointment of three new members to the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC), as well as the reappointment of two existing members and the designation of the Commission's Vice Chair.

The newly appointed members are Kathy Buto, MPA; Francis "Jay" Crosson, MD, Group Vice President, American Medical Association in Chicago, Illinois; and Warner Thomas, MBA, President and CEO of the Ochsner Health System in New Orleans, Louisiana. Their terms will expire in April 2017.

The reappointed members, whose terms will also expire in April 2017, are Willis D. Gradison, Jr., MBA, formerly a Scholar in Residence in the Health Sector Management Program at Duke University's Fuqua School of Business, and William J. Hall, MD, Director of the Center for Healthy Aging at the University of Rochester School of Medicine.

In addition, Commissioner Jon B. Christianson, PhD, Professor in the Division of Health Policy and Management at the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, has been designated as Vice Chair of the Commission.


There have been no comments made on this article. Why not be the first and add your own comment using the form below.

Leave a comment

Please complete the form below to submit a comment on this article. A valid email address is required to submit a comment though it will not be displayed on the site.

HTML has been disabled but if you wish to add any hyperlinks or text formatting you can use any of the following codes: [B]bold text[/B], [I]italic text[/I], [U]underlined text[/U], [S]strike through text[/S], [URL][/URL], [URL=http//]your text[/URL]